Wednesday, April 23, 2008

WANTED: Encouragement

Ugh... not even 2 weeks into this and I'm already over it. Don't get me wrong, I'm 100% committed to this journey and I'm still staying within my daily points, etc., but I'd love to not have to worry about how many freakin' points a piece of damn cheese is. AND, the idea that I'll be counting points for at least the next year, if not the rest of my life, is not very appealing to me.

What I find so incredibly weird is that there are some days where I'm at or even above my daily points and there's others where I'm left with 1/3 or even 1/2 of my points left. I guess it's all about choices.

I do have a new love affair with fruit. Not that I didn't love fruit before, but I would always grab a cookie or chocolate before an apple. I do have to admit that I like strawberries, pineapple and cantaloupe more than the apples but I L-O-V-E the crunch of an apple. I was at the store the other night replenishing my fruits and veggies and bought a couple of pears. As I was choosing my pears I was thinking to myself, "Self, you don't eat enough pears. You like them, why don't you eat more of them?!?!?" I mean, honestly, ask yourself if you can remember the last time you ate a pear... tricky one huh? I bet you like them too! I think they are just a highly under-rated fruit.

Shitty thing is that I've been clipping a lot of coupons lately and there are rarely coupons for fruit and veggies - totally sucks! It's all for crappy, over sodiumized (is that a word?), processed food. But at least some of the coupons can get used. No joke, I saved a total of $63 one week at the grocery store, it was 41% of the entire bill... that was a nice chunk of change in my pocket - paid for 2 months of WW, but none of the food was healthy stuff.

Headed out soon to walk with Tiff and team Trellie! Got my second WW meeting tomorrow and while I'm optimistic that I'll be down some, I'm not anticipating 5lbs like last week - the first week is always the easiest, and hardest for that matter - huh.

4 comments:

gregandsandi said...

Well, Lizzybean... no one said it would be easy. I have to say though, through reading your blogs every day, I've decided to get back on the horse. Weight Watchers books are out again, and I'm headed back to the gym. I've kept a head count of points over the last few months, but something about putting it down on paper makes it official. I'm sitting at my afterschool program in my workout gear- waiting to go to the gym. It's a scary place. Lots of people running and sweating. (Two things that I HATE to do...) But I'll put on my fun mix and walk for a bit on the tread mill and do lots of situps and arm curls and call it a night. I have to say, I may be tired at the end of a workout, but there's something really refreshing about coming home after doing something good for yourself. It does feel good. It's all a learning process. We do what we can, and just hope to God that it works. Hang in there chickadee. After a while, we'll hopefully cringe when we think about that nasty crap that we used to put in our bodies. Love you!!!!!!

gregandsandi said...

oh... and i hate pears... and brussel sprouts...
;)

Mary said...

totally hear ya. the good thing is that once you're used to it a little more the points are so much easier to figure out. you don't have to count, all you gotta do is write them down. and you're so right, the healthy things never have a dollar off coupon or anything. it's quite discouraging. Good luck tonight!! don't forget you're building muscle and burning more calories while resting now. that's huge. love you. PS I despise cantaloupe!!!!!

lois said...

Dizzy: don't worry. All this point counting gets better with time. You get to know the points so you're not always concentrating on food or points.
But it really helps to write everything down. Keeps it real.
You're smart enough to do this and tough enough to follow it through.
We're all here cheering you on!
#3 Mom