Saturday, April 12, 2008

Last Supper Syndrome

I'm sure anyone who has ever decided to start eating healthy or gone on a "diet" can relate to what I like to call LSS or Last Supper Syndrome. This is the mental attitude that the foods you LOVE and know are bad for you are the ones you want to consume before that final deadline of having to start your new healthier lifestyle.

I came to this actualization when I was driving home around 1:30pm on Thursday afternoon, knowing that I had the Weight Watchers meeting that night and thinking to myself... alright, what do you want more... Burger King Whopper or Arby's french fries? (Let me add, that I haven't had any fast food in 4 weeks, but not having it on Thursday was not an option.) Having some concept of the WW system I knew that french fries would not be entirely out of my diet if that was how I chose to use my points, but I could pretty much guarantee that the Whopper with Cheese, would not be an option and would consume my points not only for the day, but also include the pool of points I would get for the week. Next thing I know... "Yes, I'd like to get a #1 w/ cheese and a diet coke." "Your total is $5.08, please pull around to the second window."

This WW thing is pretty crazy at getting you to be more conscious of what you put in your body... on the flip side, I feel like food is consuming my life, I can't stop thinking about it, I can't stop trying to figure out how many points an item will be and if I'll be able to eat for the rest of the day if I have scrambled eggs for b'fast instead of a banana. Don't get me wrong, I understand that it's all about balance, eating a balanced diet, and making good decisions - but I didn't get into this position by making good decisions, especially when it comes to food, so it's a little harder for me than it would be for others. None the less, I'm optimistic that all of this will get easier and will become routine, which is what I hope for. Like I said, I'm looking for a lifestyle change, not a "diet" that will have me back in this position 2 years after the "diet" is over.

2 comments:

gregandsandi said...

ya know, for the firt few days on ww, i was miserable. greg would be eating a cheesesteak, and i would be doing my lean cusine. i hated it. food seemed to become an obsession. i realized that i needed to fill my time with other things- running errands, taking walks, going to the gym, taking yoga, working harder at work. i made a concious choice to treat food as a necessity, not as a pleasure inducing tool. i tried to take it to the most primal level possible and realize that god gave us the power to eat- not to make us feel all warm and mushy inside while we're eating, but to keep us alive. i don't know if it makes sense, but it's all about shifting your way of thinking. it also helps when others keep you accountable.
it does get easier. i promise.
love you.

karen said...

I completely remember feeling that way - almost like you have to overdo it before you start your new routine. It did get easier for me, and I'm sure it will for you, too. I also found that once you start exercising regularly, your body feels better and you don't really want french fries, etc. It's like you want to keep your body feeling as healthy as it does after you exercise. You're doing great! Keep it up!