I've had this 28 year relationship with food and I'm beginning to learn that the relationship is an abusive one and unfortunately I have to break-up with food as I know it, and start a newer healthier relationship. It's hard, I'm an emotional eater and food has been my comfort in sadness, my joy in times of celebration, my entertainment in times of boredom and my companion in times of loneliness. Saying goodbye is not an easy task.
The past 3 days on WW has been an experience to re-train myself about food and it is like starting a new relationship. I do find that I'm obsessing about food, I'm constantly thinking about what I will eat next, how many points it will be, if I eat celery as a snack instead of almonds then I'll have an extra 4 points and therefore can treat myself with 1/2 a chocolate bar (a sacrifice this choco-holic is willing to make), and so on. Luckily, I'm finding that I don't even need my total point allotment each day, in fact on Friday and Saturday I was 3 and 9 points below my daily goal. Today - not so much, thanks to my good ol' friend Mr. Chocolate. What?!?!? Just because I broke up my relationship with bad food doesn't mean we can't stay friends.
Greg-O has been supportive in his own quirky way... funny thing is that he was making himself one of his favorite Tostino's frozen pizza supreme for lunch the other day and we looked up how many points the pizza was... 28! 28 Freakin' points... that would be my entire day's point consumption. I say good for him to be so stinkin' skinny and not have to worry about scarfing down a pizza that contains my daily allotment of food. What's nuts about it all is that I used to polish one of those suckers away on my own as well... no wonder I'm sitting her writing this blog now! In fact... I used to eat as much food as Greg (sometimes more) at meals. Who was I kidding to think that "if he can do it, why can't I?!?!?" Silly me - the poor guy runs around for 8+ hours a day... I'm pretty sure he burns more calories in one shift than he consumes in one day.
I went out and bought a scale... eek! Actually, much to my surprise, I have already lost 4lbs since the weigh-in on Thursday at WW. Much to my dismay, I started playing around with the scale and learned that my favorite hoodie sweatshirt weighs 1.8lbs (note to self - don't wear the hoodie to weigh-ins'), and after dinner, I went up one pound. I do realize that it's mostly food and water weight so I'm not sweating the small stuff.
Under the direction of Mary I went out and bought a Klean Kanteen - very exciting. She recommended it since recent discoveries are showing that many of the plastic water bottles are leaching chemicals into your water. The fun part is that I could pick out different insulators for my Klean Kanteen, the one I got is dark brown with fun dots. I also bought another BIG ASS BALL... this one is for my desk. You see, many people in my office sit on the BIG ASS BALLS instead of desk chairs, the purpose is to strengthen core muscles and improve posture. Now, why did I have to buy another BIG ASS BALL you ask... well, I had to buy another BIG ASS BALL cause my Blue Ball is too small for my desk, but is perfect for exercising with - pertaining to my height. Tomorrow is the day I officially start my fitness routine... Mary put together an entire envelope of fun goodies to get me going... there's a contract, there's a calendar with exercise ideas, there's lists of good foods for each dietary category, there's a list of portion sizes in relate-able terms and there's also other fun notes and books and goodies... she's the best.
I've got 4 more days before my second weigh-in at WW and so far so good. Thanks again to everyone and their amazing words of encouragement and support!
1 comment:
YAYAYAY!!!! HAPPY FIRST DAY OF EXERCISING!!!! xoxoxo
Post a Comment