Friday, April 22, 2011

Temptations around every corner...

2 weeks down, 50 more to go!!! Eih-yeih-yeih... when you put it that way it seems like a daunting task. I suppose that's why people talk about baby steps and focusing on short-term goals rather than the big picture. I have to say that it's still hard to believe that in a year from now there should be way less of me and I'll probably be kicking my own ass wondering why I didn't do this sooner.

Still loving boot camp every morning, and getting up at 5am seems to be getting easier. I find the hardest part of boot camp is the first 5 minutes every morning during the warm-up. It's just so hard to take that first damn step and get going. Also, I know I'm physically behind a lot of people and they're all jogging faster and doing grape vines faster and it's not until that part is over that I start getting comfortable and kicking some ass at the different stations. I've been sweating my bootie off all week and I feel like I'm putting in more and more effort every day, as well as seeing more stamina every day. Thank goodness that it changes up, cause I'd be bored and sleeping in by now if it wasn't interesting ever day.

Easter is in 2 days and Daddy, Shelley and I are going to Meats-R-Us where it's not possible to avoid a glutton fest. For all you vegans and vegetarians - you might want to skip ahead, but for all you carnivores, this is a meat lover's paradise. Fogo de Chao is a Brazilian Steakhouse where the gauchos walk around table to table with giant slabs of meat on skewers. When I say meat, I'm talking beef of every cut, ribs, lamb, pork, chicken and there are different varieties of every animal. Everyone is given a little disk that is red on one side and green the other so the gauchos know if they should come to you. The skewers are more like swords and they will keep bringing you meat no matter how much you want. Do I need to go on...?

The best part of Meats-R-Us, in my opinion, is their salad bar. This isn't typical iceberg mix with some carrots and cucumbers to put on top, this is choc-full of marinated mushrooms, roasted red peppers, fresh mozzarella, hearts of palm, artichoke hearts, yum, yum and more yum. So in an effort to try and not over-due it, I'm sticking to just the "salad bar". Hopefully, the excess calories I consume on Sunday will at least be a little more heart health over eating 5lbs of red meat.

Tomorrow is the MPA PASA Service Project where we will be canoeing the Chattahoochee doing a river cleanup. Should be fun, and will be some good upper body exercise, especially on my day off.

The diet thing is going ok. I'm still not 100% sure about this Zone thing, where I'm supposed to be eating a carb, a protein and a fat at every meal, It just is kinda difficult for me to figure out for some reason. I'll try it out for another week or two, but if it's not working for me, I might need to go back to just eating healthy and tracking my calories and staying w/in my allotted amount each day - we'll see.

1 comment: