I seriously feel like I've been running about 10-15 minutes behind ALL WEEK. No, really. I seemed to wake up late all week and I've been just a little late for everything. So weird cause I'm a pretty punctual person. There are some explanations for some days and others where I've been left scratching my head wondering where the last 10 minutes have gone.
Here's a good example: this morning, I was getting ready to leave for bootcamp at 8:50am, bootcamp starts at 9:15 and it takes me 20 minutes to get there, so explain to me how I was half way there and look at the clock in my car and it was 9:13?!?!? I was still 5 - 10 minutes late this morning. I really don't understand it all.
I've been having alarm clock issues, I got a new iPhone4 and it seems that it doesn't work properly with my iHome alarm clock. I'm finding that half the time my alarm doesn't go off and the other half when it does go off, I'll hit snooze and then it never goes off again. Eventually I find myself waking up just a little too late to get to bootcamp, or even after bootcamp has started, and unfortunately the two times it happened this week were Tuesday and Thursday where there is no 9:15 class. Yesterday I hit snooze, and then suddenly woke myself up at 5:47am. I got my bootie up and rushed to get dressed, got out of the house, into the car and then on my way was stopped at 2 out of the 3 lights in the first 2 miles of my ride over to bootcamp. When I realized that it was after 6:00 and I wasn't even half way there, I decided to throw in the towel and go back home, wait until the sun comes up, and go to the park to run - which I did, but HATE that I missed my bootcamp.
This morning, I set my alarm on my phone which did an awesome job of waking me up on time but I decided to snuggle with the hubby until he had to get up, and figured I can go to the 9:15 class this morning. This is all while Stacy is texting me every day wondering where I am and what's going on, and Michelle, my Belle, is posting comments on here about how she missed me and yadda, yadda, yadda. I'm so thankful and grateful for all of the support and accountability, cause after this past week it would have been easy for me to get into some more bad habits.
On a positive note… DOWN 3 LB's this week!!! WHAT WHAT?!?!? That's right, while I've done a sucky job writing down all my meals (with the exception of the last two days) I've been really good at keeping within my allotted calories EVEN WITH MY DAILY NIBBLE OF CHOCOLATE (which has been 2 pieces of KitKat a day this week - 105 calories).
I'm starting to get nervous about my 5K in 2 weeks. Honestly, I feel like it's a mental hurdle more than a physical one, but when I run my 1mile lap around the path at the park, I just want to be done running after one lap. Part of me thinks that if I was to just start running, had no clue where I was going, or how far I had gone, I would be able to keep it up longer, but the reality is that if I had to do my 5K at the park I would not succeed. I'm also putting a lot of weight on the idea that adrenalin will kick in and I'll just be a force moving with the crowd. Mandi and Jess get in next Friday and I'm really excited that there is a nice little team that's running. I want to go out over the next week and get some t-shirts to make for the run. I already designed the "logo" and a little tribute for The Almighty Talbot.
I'm still short of my donation goal for the Be The One Run, please take a second to click on the link to the right and make a donation if you're able to. I was actually hoping to beat my goal and reach $1000, but it doesn't look like that will happen. I'm still proud to reach $750 - that's a lot of money and that equals 7+ more donors being registered.
GOAL: Keep at writing down all my food, good or bad!
HUGS XOXOX

4 comments:
If you're doing laps and they feel extremely hard, which they always do for me, why don't you try to plan out a route that starts and end with the mileage you need but doesn't have you running in circles? That helps for me, and music is a must. Adrenaline will definitely kick in. Just be sure to stay at your steady pace. Don't go too fast at the beginning. I think it's mental hurtle. You're going to be great. But back to the original thought, if you hate that one mile lap, maybe you're ready to find a new route.
Zeeeeender… I took your advise and just started running this morning… in total I went 4miles, but I had to stop around the 3 mile mark… I love living in the foothills of N. Georgia, but it makes running VERY hard. Any music suggestions?
omg! i totally get how much harder it is when you're working with hills. i get it b/c i ran on flat porland land for a year or so and am now trying to run costa rican hills. i think the thing about it, is you have to set realistic expectations for the hills. i know i can run a 10 min mile easy on flat land, but that's not going to be the case with the hills. so i'll work at it and eventually get there. but realistic expectations is key for me. no need to fail.
as for music, i'm the worst person to ask. i know it when i hear it, but i never know what to pick. the only sure thing that seems to work for me is beyonce. and that' because most of her music is up-pace and if not you can download the remix.
good for you getting out this morning. proud of you girl.
and on one last note. you ran 4 miles this morning with a stop at mile 3? you realize 5k is 3.2 miles right. so that means you're going to ROCK this race. right? or did i miss something.
Liz -
You know that you are officially a bad ass (your words, not mine)!
You are blowing me away at all of the cardio every day and I have been doing boot camp for 2 years! You outran every one of us the other day on the lap around the outside at bootcamp - yes, you were in the lead the whole time!
You blow me away in the indoor cardio too - every day! You are an athlete! I am so proud of you. This 5k, you could have done last month in your sleep. You have no worries just go have fun with your friends! I will miss you - I really wanted to be your 5k partner and hate that I will miss it.
As far as the I-phone....my I-phone does the same thing, so we set Steven's too to wake me up for sure at 5am everyday. Make sure that the volume each night is set for loud because when you set the side of your phone to silent during the day while you are in a meeting or something, it makes your entire volume go back down to zero! That sucks because I will forget sometimes to put the volume back up to high at night. Let me know if you want me to call you at some time each am - I am up every day to help Stacy and i can do it - or I can text you if that will wake you up.
I think you look great! Keep doing what you are doing.
Love ya! Michelle
Post a Comment