I almost, ALMOST skipped bootcamp this morning. I hit snooze on my alarm clock one too many times and by the time I realized it, I knew I would be late, so I lied there in bed for a good 10 seconds and weighed my options… turn off my alarm clock, get some more sleep and get up and go to the park and run on my own OR suck it up, get my butt moving and get to bootcamp, even if I am a few minutes late. I chose option 2. I do have to say that I was dragging A$$ the entire time, but the 40 minutes of half-assing it was still more exercise than I would get over the 40 minutes of lying in bed - right?
Summer semester is finally over as of last night, and I have 3-4 weeks before Fall Semester begins. In the meantime, I've been diligently looking for an internship. I've had 2 "interviews" already, I have a follow-up to one tomorrow morning and I'm hoping that I'll have one more prior to the end of the week. I've struggled back and forth as to what I should do concerning my internship and I still haven't come up with a solution. I suppose much of the reason behind this is because I don't exactly know where my placement will be yet, and I don't know what hours would be expected of me the couple of times a week I have to show up.
One of my struggles with my internship, wherever it is, revolves around bootcamp. The reality is that, depending upon the time I'm expected to arrive, bootcamp may be impacted at least 2x's a week. This is a major stress factor for me. As my hero Dr. Phil says… "the best predictor of future behavior is past behavior" and history has a way of repeating itself (I hope you don't all really believe that Dr. Phil is my hero). My patterns in the past have dictated that when something in my life changes, i.e. new job, a move, school, etc., I change all my habits and patterns associated with exercise and diet - and that change is ALWAYS for the worse. I already talked to Stacy about the possibility of having to drop down to 3 days a week once my internship begins and I'm hoping that the 3 days will still hold me accountable and I won't drift too far off my usual behavior. I think my previously mentioned goals has, hopefully, set me up for success by exercising on my own and not necessarily relying on bootcamp M-F to get my workout on!
The other thing that stresses me out is food. I know it's a silly thing, and as long as I prepare I'll be ok, but I like my routine as it is, and the idea of not being able to eat my usual protein and carb within 45 minutes of bootcamp every morning kinda makes me sad. I suppose this is all part of my lifestyle change. I've been pretty darn fortunate to work from home and I've taken advantage of the ability to make my b'fast, lunch and dinner with intermittent snacks at my leisure. I HATE those nasty frozen lunches/dinners and the crazy amounts of sodium in them makes me thirsty just thinking about it. So I have to get my day prepared ahead of time so that I can always have healthy snack and need to keep the mindset that just because someone brings in a dozen donuts for everyone to eat at "work" doesn't mean I have to eat it.
So far I've been doing well sticking to my goal from Friday. I've swayed a little (weekends are hard), but for the most part, I'm sticking to my calorie allotment for each day and I should see some success on Friday.
HUGS XOXOX

No comments:
Post a Comment