Tuesday, June 28, 2011

Anxiety Abounds

So tomorrow is the big day. Greg and I head out of town, and henceforth away from the security of meal control and my precious boot camp, for the next 8 days.
This is going to be a bit of a test of will power for me. Will power on a couple of different levels. First is food choices. I already mentioned that I plan on putting together a few of my standards to give me a little comfort and security, but I can't eat oatmeal and protein bars 3 meals a days. I will also be tested on my ability to motivate myself to move my ass every day without Stacy's whistle blowing every 60 seconds (I really hated that stupid whistle today!!!). I'm fairly confident that I can get myself up and moving it's just that I get so bored so easily that about 20 minutes into it I usually throw in the towel and stop. Stacy did ask for updates on how I'm doing during the week and for those of you on Facebook, I'm sure you'll see my updates there - and if you don't… CALL ME OUT ON IT. I can't promise that I'll exercise every day, in fact I'm already struggling to find the time tomorrow to exercise, but after that… no excuses.


Stacy asked us to email her our goals for this week… something that we plan on changing week that will move us in the direction of seeing improvement. I figured if I'm sharing this journey with you all, I should share my goals:
1. Begin taking more time to exercise on my own i.e. on the weekends or even again during the week if I have the time or feel so motivated (that one is geared especially for this week w/ vacation around the corner)
2. Stop focusing on the end result and start making small obtainable goals (I want results NOW and I need to set workable goals that are obtainable instead of focusing on the "end")
3. Forget about the number on the scale and focus on the number in clothes!!!

New-Mom-Mary shared with me a site that had a really interesting article. It discussed the idea that you should not focus on the number on the scale, rather the number that changes in your measurements. I've actually read a lot lately from people who are "scale obsessed" and it's all they focus on… there's been stories of people who keep their scale in their garage w/ their exercise equipment and have been known to run through the house naked before stepping into the shower so that they can get on the scale. I've read other stories of people who weigh themselves daily or even a number of times a day. That number can really control your life if you let it. The article really does change your perspective on the number on the scale. Take a look: http://everydaypaleo.com/2011/06/22/attention-scale-addicts-part-2/#more-2514

I have to admit that I do put a lot of "weight" on the scale (HA HA… that was a pun if you didn't get it), and I do measure my progress by that number. I do my actual weigh-in on Fridays and I typically do a mid-week check-in to see how I'm doing, but try to stay away from the scale the rest of the time. I definitely feel that the scale is a good benchmark of how your doing and quite frankly… if I'm up 2 or 3 pounds in my mid-week check then I'm not doing something right and need to assess what's going on to make changes for the rest of the week. I keep debating on if I want to weigh myself this Friday if I can get my hands on a scale. I fear that it won't be calibrated correctly and I'll either come back too heavy or too light which could have ill effects in either direction. I guess we'll see what happens on Friday.

Next post should be from Vermont or New Jersey or Maryland or somewhere up north so keep your eyes pealed. Good luck to all those running the Peachtree on Monday and big hugs to Shy-town who's concurring this HUGE accomplishment. I'll be thinking of you Monday morning and Tiff and I will give you a ring Sunday night to wish you good luck! HUGS TO YOU!!!

Friday, June 24, 2011

Who's that girl?

It's ME!!!

Funny thing happened this week that makes me feel awesome… It was either Tuesday or Wednesday I was standing in the corner of the gym getting ready to start our first circuit rotation and Stacy glanced over at me and had to do a double take cause she didn't recognize me at first… HOW AWESOME IS THAT?!?!?! I'm pretty flattered. The cool thing is that Stacy also sent out an email with an updated summer schedule. In the email she mentioned some of us who have lost bunches of weight over the last few months and "Liz lost 20 pounds in 2 months" was right at the top!!! YAHOOOOOOO… go me! Shout-out to my girl Emily who started the same day I did - she's down 18 pounds so she's kicking some A as well!!!

People are definitely noticing the more compact me at bootcamp and are starting to ask me if I'm doing anything more than just bootcamp and my response every time is, "I just changed my diet and I'm here 5 days a week - no excuses!" Then I get further inquiries into how I changed my diet and I have to say that if I was to try and pin-point the top things I have changed it's 1. Portion Size 2. No processed foods (i.e. nothing out of a box - for the most part) and 3. Counting every single itty bitty calorie that enters this body (Thank You My Fitness Pal, I couldn't have done it without you).

I really don't feel like I'm on a "diet" in fact I hate that word and try to use it in terms of "I've adjusted my diet" not "I'm on a diet". For some reason the dreaded "D" word reeks of failure and never leads to success, rather I feel like my nutritional "diet" is the better route because it's a change in eating behaviors and I'm finally learning what "normal" eating really is. I'm not eating tasteless cardboard, rather I'm paying attention to portion sizes. If I want ice cream, by george, I'll eat ice cream… but instead of the giant bowl in the past that probably consisted on 3 cups of ice cream (i.e. 6 servings) I'll stick with the "normal" 1/2 cup. And I'm satisfied. I do feel bad for all the money my mom spent on sending me to a nutritionist all those years when I was a tween. Mom - some of the info Connie gave me has stuck, I'm just now learning how to put it to work.

I have to admit that it's been HOT and I've been sweating like a pig every morning. I really do feel bad for the person who has to use the fitness ball after all my nasty back sweat has been on it, or the mat that I've been laying on to do pull-ups, etc. Dude, it's gross, but it is what it is, and I am who I am. I've found that if I wear my baseball cap I don't drip as much cause the band soaks up some of the nastyness from my head. I was telling Greg this week that I thought it was supposed to get easier the "fitter" I get, but it's been getting harder and harder every week. I'm sure that has to do with the fact that I've upped my weights, I've graduated to a heavier resistance band, and I'm pushing myself a little more cause I don't have the excuse "I can't do it" anymore.

I weighed in with Stacy this morning. I lost 2lbs from last week, but only 1lb from the week before cause I gained that one pound last week. My measurements are funny… some areas are up, some areas are down and some haven't changed from 2 weeks ago. It's kinda like my body is doing whatever it needs to do to shift my weight around. I'm really not worried about it cause I know I'm working hard and eating well.

Greg and I leave for vacation on Wednesday morning and I have to admit, I'm a little nervous when it comes to staying on track. I just know myself well enough that I'll start working out, but will quit half way through, when I should be doing extra cause I'm sure I'll be eating a lot of food that I wouldn't normally have. I have decided that I will pre-pack some of my normal food items to take with me, such as pre-portioned oatmeal, and some of my sandwich thins, etc. I'm sure I'll feel way better knowing that I have some of my usual standbys. I'm certain that I'll hit this blog up one more time before we head out, but if not, I'll do my best to check in while in the northeast!

HUGS XOXOX

Tuesday, June 21, 2011

It's a BOY!!!!!

So, enough about me already…

Mary and John had themselves an amazing little baby boy yesterday, Monday, June 20 at 11:54am. Little Jake Michael Miraldi is the sweetest little newborn I know and I love him already. He was 8lbs 7oz and 20.5" and has a head full of blonde hair - yeah, I know, where did that come from?!?!?

He is all I can think about day and night and I can't wait to get up there and see him and hold him and hug him and smother him with lots and lots and lots of kisses from Auntie Liz!!!


Oh M G!!! Isn't he just so perfect?!?!?! I can't stop staring at him. Love Love Love

Anywho… not much else to report. Not feeling too set back from my 1 pound gain last week, in fact I just stepped on the scale to do a mid-week check and I'm back on track, of course I won't have my official weigh-in until Friday.

Stacy was awesome to take some time and sit down with me on Monday to figure out a 5 day exercise plan with what little equipment I'll have available. So we have figured out how to get in my cardio, my "weigh training" with the resistance band, and the best order to do said exercises to maximize benefit and keep me on track so I don't miss a beat once I'm back from vacation. Now all I need to do is buy a resistance band, or two!

Feel free to stay here and stare at Jake for as long as you want, I can't blame you AT ALL!!!

HUGS XOXOX

Friday, June 17, 2011

Oooopsie

So, I maybe kinda sorta gained a pound this week. Am I surprised? No! Am I happy about it? No! But it is what it is, and the reality of it all, is that I'll have weeks where I lose a little, weeks where I lose a lot, and weeks where I might actually gain some. What's funny is that I've been feeling "fat" all week. Now before all you crazies jump in here… I'm not beating myself down, I've just felt every roll and shake and jiggle for some reason… kinda just feeling bloated and like a lump. I'm sure it'll pass, just a phase, I suppose.

I'm trying not to over analyze this, but the fact of the matter is that last week I wasn't eating much, which explained extreme weight loss. This week I've been hungry, but still staying within my allotted daily calories, and I think my body is just balancing itself out.

Bootcamp was pretty rockin' this week. I upped my weights a bit because the last couple of weeks I've been tired, but not really feeling like I exercised. This week my legs and butt and knees and abs and back and arms have been super dooper sore. The stairs have been my enemy, but then again, all movement has been the enemy. I sound like I'm 100 years old when I get up off the couch or out of my chair.

Not sure what's going on with everyone, but bootcamp has been empty lately… Monday there were some 23 people and today there was only 10 - not sure why. It's actually kinda nice with just a few people, there's no confusion over exercises and the rotation, and there's no instance where you miss an exercise because equipment didn't pan out like it should have.
Stacy decided to have a little team competition yesterday and did a little relay race between us. The winning team got this awesome HOT PINK Boot Camp towel… i L-O-V-E it! Unfortunately one of my team mates twisted her knee on her sprint back and I'm hoping and praying that she's ok, and didn't do anything serious. The towel will come in handy cause it's been super hot and it was really humid today and I am a sweat factory… no really… it's disgusting how much I sweat - it's like dripping off of me. I saw a quote this week that made me laugh… "It's not sweat, it's your fat crying" - Just a little funny thing.

Tuesday, June 14, 2011

This is becoming a problem...

A good problem, but a problem at that! What is it, you ask? My pants are falling off. I swear, I spent more time this morning pulling my pants up, than anything else. And I got a compliment on my ass!!! HA, it was from another girl, but hey, a compliment is a compliment!!!


I know I've been saying it for weeks and weeks now, but I have officially hit the point where I may have worn these work-out pants for the last time!!! EVER!!! The question now is, should I burn them, toss them, or hold onto them for when I'm on the Joy Fit Club on the Today show for them to hang up on the "before" clothes line?!?!? One thing is for sure... I will NEVER EVER wear them again!!! (except for maybe to lounge around the house - what can I say, they're comfy)

I was super dooper tempted to stop at McD's drive through this morning to pick up a b'fast sandwich simply because I was, well, HUNGRY, and also feeling a little lazy and not wanting to go home and make breakfast. I resisted the glow of the golden arches and kept trekking on, straight home and directly to the coffee maker!!! I've been feeling the urge lately for the most disgusting greasy fast food I can find and my mouth salivates thinking of fatty, juicy cheese burgers and delicious golden french fries. I actually had a piece (or maybe 2) of pizza last week for lunch and I have to say, it was close to the best damn piece of pizza I've ever had. I was actually having a visceral reaction to this pizza… it wasn't anything special, it had just been so long since I sunk my teeth into a yummy, cheesy,  doughy slice of heaven, that it was amazing on all levels.

School doesn't seem to be interrupting my schedule. In fact, it isn't really affecting me at all. Class is supposed to be from 5pm - 10:45pm but we are usually out of there by 8pm, giving me plenty of time to get home and get to bed. I had been going to the 8:30 bootcamp for the last 2 weeks so that my Monday's would be tolerable, but that was because I thought my day wouldn't be ending until after 11pm. Given that I'm home by 8:30, I think I will try and go back to the 6am class on Mondays. I feel like my body is a little out of rhythm starting the week with the 8:30 class. Understandably so, Stacy modifies the 8:30 workouts (since there are only 3 a week), and I feel like I'm doubling up on some body parts getting worked, and missing out on others. 

Weigh-in on Friday should be interesting. I'll be happy if I hold steady this week or just drop a pound or two. Last weeks weight loss was bananas, B-A-N-A-N-A-S!!! While it's good to see the number go down, I shouldn't get used to that big of a drop. I wasn't entirely happy with it because I knew that it was due to the lack of appetite. If any of you ate around 1100 calories a day you all would drop 5lbs too! None-the-less, you all know that I'll update you on Friday!

Friday, June 10, 2011

HOLY CRAP!!!


So, if you hadn't noticed... I lost 5 whoppin' pounds this week!!! I'm down 20 total in 2 months, which is pretty darn impressive. I finally feel like my weight loss is matching how I feel. I said it before and I'll say it again, I have had little to no appetite lately and my request for recipe ideas was a big fat FAIL, no thanks to you, the readers, for not participating in the recipe share - except for my Karen and Shy, thanks guys! (that was my attempt at guilting all of you to still contribute some healthy recipes under the comments on the last post).

Here is a list of inches lost so you can visualize me now... still not ready to post a picture.

Weight:          -20lbs
Upper Arm:         -2"
Chest:            -3.25"
Waist:            -3.5"
Hips:             -3"
Thigh:           -3.25"
Abs:              -4"

Overall, not too shabby, if I do say so myself. All joking aside, thanks for all the encouragement I've been getting. It's about time to head out and buy a new pair of pants, but I'm holding out another week or so before we head out of town for vacation.

Tuesday, June 7, 2011

Your Turn...

I need your help... I've been hitting a brick wall when it comes to food. I'm a creature of habit and I tend to eat the same thing every day. My morning starts with one of two options. Either a fried egg w/ cheese (preferably reduced fat) on an Arnold whole wheat sandwich thin OR yummy oatmeal. My lunch consists of a boca burger w/ cheese (preferably reduced fat) on an Arnold whole wheat (or multi-grain) sandwich thin, with a table spoon on ketchup and a pickle. Dinner on the other hand has a little variety but it typically consists of a grilled lean protein (chicken, pork chop, shrimp, lean steak, etc.), a grilled veggie and a steamed veggie. Not very adventurous.

I'm getting to the point where I just don't feel like eating anymore. I'm certainly not meeting my necessary calories only hitting about 1100-1200/ day, when I should be close to 1600-1800 (depending on how much I push it at bootcamp). Added to the lack on interest in food is the heat. We have had 10 straight days of 90+ degree days and there is no end in sight, which makes me even less inclined to turn on the stove or oven and get creative in the kitchen. I've found a couple of fun sites with some neat recipes including www.skinnytaste.com which is really fun to go through. The great thing with this counting calorie thing is that the website/app I use www.myfitnesspal.com has a recipe builder, where you add the ingredients, determine how many servings the recipe makes and it calculates the nutritional info... calories, fats, carbs, proteins, sodium, etc. I've begun taking recipes that are my standby and adding them to myfitnesspal.com to determine how many calories it is.

This is where you all come into play. In the comment section (and I've changed the function so EVERYONE can post a comment not just subscribers) I'm asking ALL OF YOU to add your favorite, healthy recipe. It can be very simple such as a salad or sandwich, or it can be detailed. BUT... I need some inspiration.

Here, I'll start! This is a Mushroom Quinoa Soup that I found from one of my favorite food blog sites (although Kelly is not always cooking healthy, her ideas are fabulous). Here is the link to the blog, http://thecornerkitchen.blogspot.com/ (Kelly, don't kill me for copy-write infringement) but here it is:


Mushroom Quinoa Soup

2 tablespoons unsalted butter
2 tablespoons flour
Salt & fresh ground pepper
2 leek (white part only), halved and thinly sliced
1 carrot, peeled, halved and thinly sliced
1 celery stalk, finely chopped
1 cup dry red wine
4 cups vegetable stock (beef or chicken stock also work well)
1/2 pound cremini mushrooms, stems removed and caps quartered
1/2 pound white button mushrooms, stems removed and caps quartered
1/3 cup quinoa

In a large saucepan over medium heat melt the butter.  Remove from the heat and slowly added the flour, whisking out any lumps.  Add about 1/2 teaspoon of salt & 1/2 teaspoon of pepper.  Return the pan to medium heat, stirring the roux constantly, until it begins to brown, about 3-5 minutes.  Stir in the leeks, carrots and celery.  Slowly add the wine, while whisking constantly.  Reduce the heat to low and let simmer, stirring occasionally, until the flavors have blended and the roux has thickened, about 20 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a medium saucepan, bring the vegetable broth to a simmer.  Add the mushrooms and cook, uncovered, for 10 minutes.  When the roux mixture is ready, add the broth and mushrooms, and stir well.  Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to medium low.  Add the quinoa and simmer, uncovered, for about 20 minutes.  Season with salt & pepper to taste.


Nutritional info per serving: Calories - 200, Carbs - 27g, Fat - 6g, Protein - 12g, Sodium - 1537mg, Sugar - 3g, Fiber - 5g

Enjoy everyone! And I want to see what you all have to offer!!! If I like the recipe, I'll add it to my recipe builder and let you all know the nutritional info, if you're interested.

Wednesday, June 1, 2011

Some days you've got it, some days you don't!

Today is a day I don't. I'm finding that for the most part, I show up to bootcamp and I'm rip-roarin'-and ready to go! Other days, like today, I'm dragging A$$.

Monday was awesome. Stacy held bootcamp for an hour and it was kickin'. I wore my heart rate monitor and burned just under 750 calories during that hour. We didn't get to use our watermelons (or in my case a cantaloupe) during bootcamp, but everyone dug into them afterwards and chowed down. I couldn't find a mini-watermelon so I opted for the cantaloupe. I had a feeling that we would be running holding them over our heads and I knew that if I got a full sized watermelon, even a small one, I would be close to killing myself. People laughed, but let's be honest, I tend to march to the beat of a different drummer.

Yesterday and Today have been a struggle when it comes to bootcamp. I've just been lacking a little bit of energy and today was a leg day and I felt like my legs were filled with lead - they just didn't want to move. I've finding that my energy level seems to come in waves as it relates to bootcamp, actually, it relates to everything. I have weeks like last week, where I'm gun-ho and going full speed ahead, I have full energy throughout the day and sleep well at night. Then there are weeks like this, where I can't seem to get moving at bootcamp and all I want to do all day is sleep, but I can't, and when I finally get to bed, I can't fall asleep.

I hope everyone had a good holiday weekend. I spent some time working but also found time to enjoy myself. Saturday, Craig, Tara and Tara's daughter came over and we cooked out - they ate burger's and I ate my boca burger. We also had corn on the cob and cucumber salad. It was DELISH!!! Then we took a good hour or two and hiked down to the creek and through the creek. It was a really good workout and I seriously think that is why my legs have been so tired today.

Monday, G'man and I took a nice drive up to Ellijay and went to my favorite orchard. We couldn't pick our own, but we did get a 1/2 peck of Georgia Peaches and they are close to the best peaches I've ever had.

Other than that... all is well. School starts on Monday and I'm sure it will throw my routine into a little bit of a tissy for a while, but I'll keep you all abreast of what's going on.