…and it hurts. I’m referring to the proverbial bandwagon. I’ve really been sucking at this Weight Watchers thing for the past 2 months almost – and it’s been showing in my blogs, or lack thereof. It started as just a plateau, but I recognize that I’m really just not sticking to it. I’ve been craving pizza, french fries, ice cream, and a whole lotta garbage and well… I’ve given in to the temptations and it shows. Now, I have to admit that I’ve been making “better” choices, but still not the best choices… such as, if I’m at Chick-Fil-A I’ll get the grilled chicken on wheat bun with a side of green beans instead of a fried chicken sandwich with mayo and a side of waffle fries (but believe me… I miss the hell outta those fries.)
So what’s been going on… well, I still LOVE my job, I more than LOVE my job. I’ve stopped all my freakish exercising that I was doing, I know it’s just an excuse, but it was so damn hot during July I just couldn’t bring myself to go out and walk in 96 degree weather. Just couldn’t do it. So I’m “storing” an elliptical for a friend – free of charge of course, but I can’t get the thing working, dang. I looked up prices for gym memberships and quite frankly, I can’t afford it. $60 whoppin’ dollars to use a treadmill once a day – these people have to be out of their minds!
I went to the library and picked up “The Ultimate Weight Loss, 7 keys to Weight Loss Freedom” by Dr. Phil. I’m not very far through it, but thought it might motivate me some. One key thing that struck me was when he was talking about positive attributes each of us have… such as good sense of humor, being caring or being a great friend, etc… but then he asked how good of a friend I am to myself. Truth is… I would stop everyone in the world from doing something to harm themselves… but then I go and scarf down a frosty from Wendy’s… clearly something that is harming me, that being said… I need to start being my own best friend.
Challenges ahead include the party of the year on Aug. 30th! WOOT! Labor Day Luau at work on Monday – yikes! Dad-O’s B-day, although with him losing weight, it takes a lot of pressure off to eat better, anniversary on the 18th, then we start moving into the holiday season – I suppose if I don’t jump back on that wagon the rest of the year will just be harder and harder.
2 comments:
aay-men sister. I gave myself excuses over the summer, and gained some back. I've decided to go balls to the wall. No more excuses. Dr. Phil (although I hate to admit it) is right. We need to be our own best friend. No one else will hold us TOTALLY accountable for what we put into our bodies but us. We can do it. Oh, and happy almost barfday lady! Happy first 29th!! hehe.
First, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! Second, KEEP ON KEEPIN' ON!!! you've done such a great job so far... switch things up a bit to renew your motivation or find additional ways to hold yourself accountable. Your better choices are awesome; that's such a big deal and makes a huge difference. It's ok to fall- it keeps us real... but it's most important to get back up. love you.
Post a Comment