So I’m slowly starting to get into jogging. I think I was channeling Wonder Woman the first time I went running because it has been much harder since and I’m coming to realize that it’s 90% mental and 10% physical, well maybe more like 75% mental and 25% physical, actually, my body is achy after running tonight so maybe it’s more like 50% mental and 50% physical, but regardless… it takes a lot of mental strength to get my ass around that track. Today I made it one full mile, walked a half then attempted to run another… NOPE, only got ¼ of the way through the next mile and had to go back to walking – Mind over Matter… my mind just wasn’t strong enough to keep me going.
Here’s the really cool thing… I’ve started jog/walking at a new park and it’s pretty much surrounded by woods and I got there and started stretching and there wasn’t really anyone around me for some time. I then noticed that a deer walked out of the woods no more than maybe 100 feet from me. The deer just stood there, nibbling on the grass and watching me stretch, I was minding my own business and he his until I started to jog and wouldn’t you know it… that silly deer started running right at me, crossed in front of me maybe 10 feet ahead and then started running besides me on the right side for about 20 yards. Then Mr. Deer ran into the woods and disappeared into oblivion. Pretty neat brush with nature if I do say so myself. Yet another reason why exercising is so cool – or at least that’s what I keep trying to convince myself of. I wish I had a camera to take a picture of Mr. Deer next to me, but this drawing will have to do!
Here’s the really cool thing… I’ve started jog/walking at a new park and it’s pretty much surrounded by woods and I got there and started stretching and there wasn’t really anyone around me for some time. I then noticed that a deer walked out of the woods no more than maybe 100 feet from me. The deer just stood there, nibbling on the grass and watching me stretch, I was minding my own business and he his until I started to jog and wouldn’t you know it… that silly deer started running right at me, crossed in front of me maybe 10 feet ahead and then started running besides me on the right side for about 20 yards. Then Mr. Deer ran into the woods and disappeared into oblivion. Pretty neat brush with nature if I do say so myself. Yet another reason why exercising is so cool – or at least that’s what I keep trying to convince myself of. I wish I had a camera to take a picture of Mr. Deer next to me, but this drawing will have to do!

I tried to run at the other park I usually visit to walk and I swear that the park is a giant time vortex. No, really, I feel like time just stops when I’m there, everything takes FOREVER and I couldn’t even jog half way around yesterday. Now tell me how it’s possible that I can’t even get half way around a trail that is only 8/10 of a mile total around and I struggle only towards the end of the cycle at the park where the trail is a full mile… that’s precisely what I mean when I say mind over matter. Exercise is a psychological warfare.
I also think that I wasn’t wearing the right bra. I really wasn’t thinking too much about it when I changed and ran out the door to get to my WW meeting. I have a JogBra that is like wrapping my girls in shrink-wrap cause those babies don’t move and then I have this sports bra which clearly give a little less support. Now, I’m not staying that the girls where close to knocking me out with every bounce, but they were def. moving more than was comfortable. I’ll have to pay closer attention to what upper body support attire I slap on and make sure it’s catered to the type of physical exercise I intend to do.
The other rockin' thing is that there was this little latino who is always at the park running, and boy does he run fast. Well, as I was finishing up my last lap he was coming up behind me and he said... "come on... you can do it!" and I said, "thanks, I'm trying to build up my stamina, this is only my 4th attempt at jogging." and he said... "next time you should follow me and try to catch me." I thanked him for the encouragement and hopefully some day I can keep up with Speedy Gonzales, maybe in 10lbs. Funny how every milestone now circles around my weight. Rightfully so! You figure that in 10lbs, not only will I have been running for probably a month more, but also I'll be that much lighter and it will be easier to drag this ass around the park. Yes?
25lbs down! ROCK ON! Last weeks weigh-in wasn’t the greatest, but I’m very motivated for a successful week ahead and looking forward to many a salad and lots of fruit this week. Back to basics! GO ME!
Happy 4th of July to everyone, I hope your holiday weekend is filled with much health and tons of activity!